Shield of Faith in One Hand, a Pistol in the Other

beretta-9

I don’t know how some of you feel about guns but as for me, they scare me a bit. With the economy in the chaos that it is, the crime stats are rocketing. More compelling than the stats, though, are the local accounts of criminal activity that is mounting. A physician in the practice I work for losing hundreds of thousands of dollars to identity theft. A growing number of home invasions, break-ins, and car thefts in the surrounding neighborhoods (and I ain’t talking the ghetto here; this is in middle to upper class communities). The house of another physician I work with robbed at high noon while he was at church one Sunday; they busted through the front door. On a separate Sunday afternoon as I was walking through the parking lot into the grocery store across the street from my neighborhood, the local police nabbed some looters during their getaway attempt. Armed robberies in broad daylight in populated parts of town. That’s enough to make someone rethink things a bit.

I decided that its far better (and a little less scary) to look down the sights of my own firearm than down the barrel of someone else’s. We have purchased and been trained to use a Beretta 9mm Semi-Automatic. We didn’t buy it because we want to shoot somebody, we bought it because we don’t want to be shot (as I once heard someone say). My hope is that I’d never need to use it (which beats the alternative of hoping I had one to use if needed.) I figure if my canine don’t get ‘em first, I’ve got my nine as a back-up!

Some might say that I am questioning God’s protection over me. Not at all. I’ve got great faith in God’s protection over me, He promises it all through Psalms. Don’t confuse protection with exemption. He wouldn’t have to protect me if I wasn’t going to encounter danger. With great faith and under the Lord’s protection, David used a carnal weapon of the day to take down the Philistine intruder. He didn’t give David some kind of Benny Hinn anointing to “slay” the enemy and He won’t me either. Faith is only part of the equation, without corresponding action, faith is useless (James 2:14-26). Let’s be real: there are some battles for which the shield of faith is just not enough. Spiritually speaking, it will stop the flaming arrows of the evil one but physically speaking, will it stop the force of a speeding bullet?

One response to “Shield of Faith in One Hand, a Pistol in the Other

  1. ‘To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of people always possess arms, and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them…’’
    — Richard Henry Lee, 1787

    Some things never change.

Leave a Reply

