Sore Muscles

My shoulders have been sore for the last couple of days. I know what you’re thinking, the sore muscles are from a New Year’s resolution? And you’d be right, except it’s probably not the resolution you’d naturally be thinking. It has nothing to do with being more healthy, at least physically anyway. It is the result of exercise though, that is, exercising my faith and building spiritual muscle.

So what does that have to do with my shoulders? As a way of deepening my walk with God, I am trying to raise the fervency and energy of my worship time. In so doing, I threw my arms up in the air as usual on Sunday but when they started to get tired, I pushed them up higher. And when the muscles began to burn, I praised right through it. I have no idea what Christ’s arms must have felt like when He hung on the cross but I know that for His sacrifice, I am grateful. Sore arms are the least I could do to show my gratitude. No pain, no gain!

Praise the LORD, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. ~ Psalm 103:1

Lift up your hands in the sanctuary and praise the LORD. ~ Psalm 134:2

Leave a Reply

