Sin No More

Back in the day, there was a metal band called Faith No More––maybe some of you have heard of them? Well my pastor preached an intense, encouraging word yesterday from the parable of the prodigal son that made me feel the opposite. I felt so inspired that on the way home from church, I told my wife that I was starting a resolution to sin no more. Yep, I was headstrong on giving up sin. That is of course until her comment quickly brought me back to earth. She said, “Great honey, I’ll go home and fill up the bathtub and you start walking.” OUCH! A test I could never pass. I guess I was asking for that.

Without sin, there would be no separation from God, the parable of the prodigal son would be pointless, Christ would be just another prophet at best, His resurrection a fraud, and His work on the cross useless. Actually, without sin would there even be a Christ (or a need for one)? Would there be a God or would we be our own god?

It is because of sin that we know of a perfect, all-powerful God and it is because of a Son that we know the perfect, all-powerful God. Thank God for sin (never thought I’d say that) and His son! Nevertheless, I shall “make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him (2 Peter 3:14b).”

2 responses to “Sin No More

  1. Interesting take on sin, Brian. Thanks for reminding us of the value of sin (although I’m not sure value is the word I want here.)

    Also check out my blog post on Dr. Rick Warren–will be of interest to you and your readers.

  2. Sin (in a way) is a great thing and I have known this for a long while. It allowed us to know Him, it brings us closer to Him, and we can use share our bad experiences as a way of showing love to others.
    What a great revelation.

Leave a Reply

