Speech Impediment

My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires. ~ James 1:19-20

This is my prayer for me. This is what I’m asking you, my brothers and sisters in Christ, to stand in agreement with me on, that is, keeping my trap shut; it’s what I really suck at. I continually tell my daughter not to say anything if she doesn’t have anything nice to say but find that I don’t really practice what I preach. I am sometimes (or maybe even more often than I recognize) callous with people, including my own family. There have been several occasions in the last couple of weeks that have brought me to this realization. I detest this about me, or more importantly, detest how it likely makes people feel; I am sick of myself and need a change!

Don’t get me wrong, in spite of myself, I’m still a “success” by most people’s standards. I still have friends (that aren’t necessarily like me), I develop great rapport with my patients, I am a trusted and respected team member at work and church, my wife and daughter love me anyway, and most of my family still speak to me. But is it because they have learned to overlook that about me? And how many people have I hurt in the process of “being myself?” Would I even like me if I was my own best friend?

When used with discretion, being direct with people can be a good quality. That’s just not me though––I‘m abrasive instead of assertive, my comments can be hurtful rather than helpful. When I look back over the years, I think I’ve been (and am) a real horse’s rear at times. You may not see it (thank goodness) but that’s because writing is a little different. I have time to formulate my thoughts, proofread what I’ve written, and hold it to rigorous standards. That’s exactly the kind of model that I need to apply to the words I speak. Easier said than done.

Like the praise song, please pray that the Lord would change my heart to demonstrate the righteous life of God that is within me. That He would give me the discipline and ability to be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to anger, saying only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs and benefiting those who listen (Ephesians 4:29).

That’s the “speck in my eye” right now. Do you have a vice or shortcoming for which we can stand in prayer together?

3 responses to “Speech Impediment

  1. Brian, how refreshing it is to read someone’s own recognition of his depravity in sin. You can pray for me and my lustful eyes. It is a struggle that I betray my wife with all the time.

  2. I’ve had the flu for the last couple of weeks and have discovered how impatient I’ve become. Just the slightest thing will set me off. I’ll be praying for your shortcoming and ask that you’ll pray for mine.

  3. Brian, I share the same vice as you – I can be rather pleasant with strangers, and friends at church, etc., but within the confines of my home, I can sometimes be another person…

    Thanks for being so honest….add me to the list of those praying.
    Toni

Leave a Reply

