Get a Clue!

Tina, Meg, and I were playing a game of Clue last night. I had the killer and the location of the crime identified but I only had the weapons narrowed down to three possibilities. Using the trophy in two separate unchallenged accusations, I was convinced that I had finally nailed down the weapon used to commit the crime. I quickly got into position where I could make the final accusation that would win the game. As I opened the envelope to reveal the answer to the crime, I slowly slid out the cards one by one, first revealing the killer–YES, I got it right; then the room–BAM!; and finally for the win (drum roll please) the weapon–WHAT?! It wasn’t the trophy as my evidence had implied. Someone either unjustly gave me the wrong information or wrongfully omitted a very important clue. Someone failed to show me the truth for which I missed the great mystery; I was deceived into believing the wrong answer!

In this game of life, are you neglecting the Truth? Will you miss the great mystery (“which is Christ in you, the hope of glory”)? Are you being deceived into believing the  wrong answer? Here are some questions and scriptures for further consideration:

Do you rely more on your pastor, other fellow Christians, or even non-believers to decipher the mystery of the God instead of looking to the Word of Truth for yourself?

  • Jesus answered: “Watch out that no one deceives you. For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am the Christ,’ and will deceive many…” ~Matthew 24:4-5
  • See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ. ~Colossians 2:8

What evidence are you using to justify your beliefs? How can you affirm your faith?

  • All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. ~2 Timothy 3:16-17
  • By this gospel you are saved, if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you. Otherwise, you have believed in vain. ~1 Corinthians 15:2
  • I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people. Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you; but I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil. . . Now to him who is able to establish you by my gospel and the proclamation of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery hidden for long ages past, but now revealed and made known through the prophetic writings by the command of the eternal God, so that all nations might believe and obey him—to the only wise God be glory forever through Jesus Christ! Amen. ~Romans 16:17-19, 25-27

Get a Clue, Get in the Word!

Leave a Reply

