Stinkin’ Thinkin’

p1030336

As you walk into the worship experience at my church on Sundays, they hand you an ink pen along with the worship guide (bulletin) with which to take notes during the service, write prayer requests, etc. Two weeks ago, Tina got a faulty pen. You could click the pen open but you couldn’t click it closed. The only way to close it was to press the tip against something. At one point, she actually pressed the tip of the pen into the cover of my Bible to get it closed (for that, she’s going to hell I’m sure).

Well this week, I was the victim. After taking my first note, wouldn’t you know it, the pen wouldn’t close. With a couple of thousand people coming through two different entrances at two different services each week, I quickly dismissed the possibility that I got the same ink pen as my wife did the previous week. So as the pastor was preaching on debt and how blessed we are, I couldn’t keep my mind from wandering to how cheap these pens must have been. As I continued to play with the pen during the sermon, I got it to close (on accident of course). It turns out that the pen closes when the pocket clip is pressed. It was then that I realized that it wasn’t the pen that was broken, but my thinking; my perspective was second-rate, not the ink pen.

Have you ever done that? Do you sometimes have stinkin’ thinkin’? Do you count your costs when you should be counting your blessings? Is there an area in your life that might appear to be a burden but is actually a blessing if you examine it more closely or look at it from a different angle?

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. ~Romans 12:2

3 responses to “Stinkin’ Thinkin’

  1. Perhaps there is yet another meaning.

    We should never be “put away” in the presence of the Teacher, rather always be available at a secnonds notice.

    Remember the twelve virgins? Six with the proper amount of oil six without…

    Kind of like they ended up fidgeting with their “ink pens” when the Bridegroom came and they missed Him.

  2. Blogger,

    This past summer I was asked to photogragh a last minute wedding because the bride and groom did not want to pay the $900.oo the photograher they had hired was charging. Well I took the job for less the cost and hired one of my photograhpers who of course did not show. With quick thinking I called my family, my grand daughter and daughter. Might I say are excellent photograhers and have years of experience also. Not only did we do the pictures we filmed the entire wedding all 3 of us for a very low price. But it gets better, I did not get paid because see stiff me and it was a stinking deal. Any way I just read the Prayer of Jabez this past month and guess what? Just the other day the bride called to say….. I have your money and I would love to get my pictures…. 4 months later. Well I guess I can count my blessings after all and pay those who helped me out just in time for the holidays. What a blessing. God always shows up on time.

    -(aka Queen of Hearts)

  3. This blog made me laugh! Very good insight to a common problem among Christians and the world.

Leave a Reply

