Apple of His Eye

♫  You are the sunshine of my life۰♪۰That’s why I’ll always be around۰♪۰You are the apple of my eye۰♪۰Forever you’ll stay in my heart ♫

Some of you may not be old enough to recognize that song–me barely (although it is a classic)! It’s a 1973 release from Stevie Wonder entitled You Are the Sunshine of My Life. This may have been the first time that I heard the phrase ‘apple of my eye.’ Like me, you’ve probably heard it in songs or writings throughout life. I’ve kinda’ picked up the meaning of it through how it is used but it has never taken on such meaning until I came across it in the Bible.

7Show the wonder of your great love, you who save by your right hand those who take refuge in you from their foes. 8Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings 9from the wicked who assail me, from my mortal enemies who surround me. Psalm 17:7-9

9For the LORD’s portion is his people, Jacob his allotted inheritance. 10In a desert land he found him, in a barren and howling waste. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye, 11like an eagle that stirs up its nest and hovers over its young, that spreads its wings to catch them and carries them on its pinions. 12The LORD alone led him; no foreign god was with him. Deuteronomy 32:9-12

YOU are the apple of God’s eye:

1. He’s got His eye on you. He adores you and is a God that is starving for the red delicious Washington apple that you represent. He desires fellowship with you. He will not let you perish, as He will protect you from any harm.

2. He’s close enough that your image is a reflection in His eye. You are ripe for His grasp. You do not need to look for Him, He is right there near to you.

3. He looks at you long enough that your image is burned onto His retina. Like the image burned onto a computer monitor that has no screen saver, He still sees your image even if He turns His head.

4. He is an Apple fan, not a PC fan. You see, you were made righteous in the eyes of God by the work of Christ (2 Corinthians 5:21). He sees you as perfect, as an Apple Computer. When you were lost and without Christ, He saw your sin; you were imperfect, you were a PC. God desires fellowship with you but you first need to convert. (That is, to Christ; conversion to Apple Computers is optional.)

One response to “Apple of His Eye

  1. Sherita Williams

    What a beautiful connection!A few years ago I was experiencing a diffcult time in my life and I would pray to God to hide me in shadow of his wings and I never thought about being the apple of his eyes. I guess that is why God moved so victorious for me as healed my mind and soul and delivered me from my enemy. I am gratiful and now when i hear that song i will think of the beautiful analogy you have given to remember God’s love! Sherita Williams

Leave a Reply

