Good Meal, Goodwill, Good Deal

On Saturday evening,Tina and I went out for a good meal at the high-end restaurant 131 Main. Then, (and I’m going to get a little “womanesque” on you) we went shopping at the high-value Goodwill. We’ve got a friend who thinks she is the Queen of the Night when it comes to Goodwill but I’ve got news for her. No, this is not a coup to lay claims to the “Queen’s” title. As far as I’m concerned, she can keep it. I’m just saying: We’ve been doing it longer and we do it better! Sorry Kellie! We’ve been Goodwillin’ since ‘62––ok, so maybe that’s a little bit of a stretch; it’s more like ‘02. Anyway, I’m not afraid to admit that a large percentage of my wardrobe comes from Goodwill, though you’d never know it. Now, I don’t necessarily have the corner on being cool (there’s a real news flash) but I try to stay hip (do they still use that word?) to the latest fashions. I wear the same brands that the young people wear, names like Banana Republic, Guess, DKNY, Abercrombie & Fitch, to name a few, except at a huge discount. And I’m talking new, or like-new stuff. I have no idea what I have saved over the years but you be the judge based on an outfit bought this past weekend. A silk-cotton shirt by Calvin Klein $3.79, a designer pair of jeans by X2 Denim Laboratory $4.49, and a brown, soft leather winter coat (get this) $4.99––that’s not a typo, there are no missing zeros. Total cost of the outfit (drum roll please): $14.23 including tax. You can barely buy a belt for that amount, even at Walmart. The irony of it all is that we enjoyed two Zebra’s (mocha, not the animal) at Caribou Coffee afterwards for a cost of $7.75 (I may have left out a zero here). That’s highway robbery but well worth it after such a productive night shopping.

The icing on the cake: Goodwill is fertile ground to sow into. Founded in 1902 by Rev. Edgar J. Helms, a Methodist minister (and a real “community organizer”), Goodwill is “North America’s leading nonprofit provider of education, training, and career services for people with disadvantages, such as welfare dependency, homelessness, and lack of education or work experience, as well as those with physical, mental and emotional disabilities.” And most of the time, the workers are genuinely nice. It’s one of the best kept secrets in America in my opinion. Oops, not any more, I just spilled the beans.

Stayed tuned over the next few weeks for a post about a “Goodwill Challenge” that Tina and I took my mother up on.

One response to “Good Meal, Goodwill, Good Deal

  1. YAY!!! I LOVE getting good deals!!! I have only managed to look at household things and the shoes…it’s hard to look at everything with 3 kids running around, and a hubby who is rolling his eyes and tapping his toe to get out of there. I will have to go back when I am by myself…and have a little extra cash!!! Can’t wait to see your other treasures!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

