Grandparent’s Day

Happy Grandparents Day, Gram and Pap!

I just got off the phone with my grandma and grandpap. I always enjoy talking to them. They have five decades of experience that I do not. And so, I find their perspective interesting. In some respects, it’s a far different world than when they grew up. In others’, some things never change. While they know little about MySpace, Twitter, Google, cell phones, email, internet, etc., they know first hand of other current events like war, hard economic times, political history, and the importance of good ol’ Christian values. This may sound cliché but they have had as much influence on who I am and who I am becoming than almost anybody else (aside from my own parents, of course). I spent a lot of time with my grandparents growing up, going to church with them; attending Vacation Bible school; helping Pap in the yard or garage; eating Pop-Tarts, Lipton Cup-o-Soup, and Old Fashioned Ginger Snaps; (my favorite) getting a bag full of nickel candy at the local store; smoking my first . . . just kidding; my bother and I did play in a pile of manure one time but that’s another post altogether. Bottom line: they are a part of so many of my childhood memories. I guess you could say that some parts of them have been cut and pasted into my very soul. They are beautiful people who I am proud and privileged to share in their legacy. Today, I honor you Pap and Gram!

Leave a Reply

