In honor of . . .

Me? Say what? Yep, me. Only cause it was Father’s Day of course, not necessarily because I’m worthy. More on this later. But let me show you how my wonderful daughter , Meg, and my stunning wife, Tina honored me.

  • A cool card from Meg (it played the NFL Monday Night Football theme song; how cool is that?)
  • A sweet card from Tina
  • Julianne Hough CD (her first release –– think “Dance With the Stars”)

Tina also encouraged me to go to the bookstore and get something for myself (she was either sick or that’s real honor). Here’s what I got:

  • The Shack by William P. Young (as highly recommended by our small group)
  • And last but certainly not least, my favorite Father’s Day gift of all (drum roll please). . .

A rock. But not just any rock. A hand painted one by Meg that says “Dad Rocks” on one side and “#1” on the other. Custom gifts from special people are always the most thoughtful and memorable.

WOW! What a Father’s Day!

Now, I try to be the best dad I can be but I realize that I’m not perfect. I’m glad that Meg and Tina can see through my inadequacies and honor me the way they do. The way you honor your father on Father’s day almost says as much about you as it says about him. So here’s a radical concept to think about for those of you whose relationship with your father isn’t so favorable: Honor your father on Father’s Day anyway, not because of who he is but because of who you are. And if he’s not particularly honorable, honor the father you want him to be. Worse case scenario: you can feel good about yourself. Best case scenario: he’ll make some progress, and maybe even someday live up to your expectation.

Happy late Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

