Only the Beginning. . .

“In the beginning God created. . .”

“Fourscore and seven years ago. . .”

“December 7th, 1941–a date which will live in infamy . . .”

“That’s one small step for man. . .”

To everything, there is a beginning. Nothing, great or small, starts without one. Existence began with God, sin began with Adam, redemption begins with Christ, America began with Indians (sorry Mr. Columbus, they were here first), democracy began with the Declaration of Independence, abolition of slavery began with the Emancipation Proclamation, World War II began with an attack from Japan, the civil rights movement and hence desegregation and social justice began with a Supreme Court decision, the moon walk began with one step (think Neil Armstrong not Michael Jackson), Elevation Church began with a 16 year old young man’s encounter with God. You get the point–without a beginning, there simply is no ending, no progression, no achievement. In order to win it, you must first begin it.

This is a beginning of sorts for me; the beginning of the realization of a dream, my dream, to be a writer. Inspired by my lovely wife, my extended family (that’s you small group), and Leslie Nease, this blog will serve as a test site to trial my material, to polish my skills, and, quite frankly, to see if I got what it takes. Maybe, just maybe, a someone or two will get inspired along the way.

To paraphrase a relatively unknown 16th century English poet, John Dryden, mighty things grow from small beginnings. Or better said, every oak tree starts as an acorn. This is my acorn and I hope that you can serve as the ideal conditions (fertile soil, the right climate, and adequate water) needed for my oak to grow large and mighty. I encourage and even welcome, your comments, compliments, and criticisms especially; it is these that will help to prune and shape the tree I become.

The Beginning

9 responses to “Only the Beginning. . .

  1. CONGRATS on the blog! I am excited to read it! oh! and it looks great! 🙂

  2. This blog is the beginning of greatness!! I am so excited that you FINALLY have a blog!!! YAY!!

  3. Hey! I like it so far…
    I am glad you started the blog! I look forward to reading it.

  4. “I hope that you can serve as the ideal conditions (fertile soil, the right climate, and adequate water)”

    I’m going to try to be the adequate water, I’ll let someone else be the fertile soil!

  5. Brian,
    What a good start… um I mean beginning : )

    You got more guts than I to be blogging!

    Stevo

  6. Tina ( your lovely wife)

    I won’t tell you my favorite part of “The Beginning” , but I will give you a hint . It starts with -INSPIRED. Great job and I Love You!

    Tina

  7. I enjoyed reading it. I look forward to seeing where you go from here.

    carol

  8. Brian,
    In the Beginning was God. ….and He said let there be light. May your encouragement bring light to many beginnings as you step out in the gifts He as given you. Love it and look forward to keeping up with your thoughts!!

  9. Keep it up. This is good!

Leave a Reply

